A couple DKE fraternity alumni pose for a photo in front of the renovated chapter house.

Brothers of Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity marked the 160th anniversary of the Rho Chapter’s founding at Lafayette and the opening of its renovated chapter house with celebratory events during Homecoming Weekend.

The house reopened at the beginning of the academic year following an extensive renovation that transformed living spaces and added common areas for social events and meetings. President Alison Byerly said the project provides a model to draw on for living-learning communities at Lafayette, which are a key focus of the College’s Live Connected, Lead ChangeĀ campaign.

A signature space in the house is a new solarium named in honor of the late Edward A. “Ned” Jesser Jr. ’39, a DKE brother and longtime trustee of the College. It was made possible by the generosity of Edward A. “Chip” Jesser III ’68 and Peggy Jesser P’07.

Thanks to the support of more than 100 alumni and friends, more than $1.3 million was raised for the project.

A plaque erected in the house recognizes these major donors:
The DKE coat of arms on a rug in the renovated chapter house

  • President’s Circle: Allan P. Kirby Jr. ’53
  • Order of the Winged Disk: Edward “Ned” Jesser Jr. ’39 and B. Reilly ’83
  • Rampant Lion Club: Paul McCurdy ’82, Daniel Huffenus ’86, Todd Wiltshire ’86, Mark Gupta ’87, and Mark Federov ’91
  • Sybil’s Cave Alliance: Harry Bockus Jr. ’50, Thomas Neff ’59, Michael Browne ’83, Neill Kling ’85, Christopher Nolan ’86, and David DeWolf ’95

Also renovated were the kitchen, bathrooms, plumbing, heating and cooling system, electrical system, and laundry areas. Improvements were also made to the brick facade, masonry, walkways, concrete, windows, doors, roof, and landscaping.

Members of the 160th Anniversary Campaign Steering Committee were McCurdy, Michael De Lisi ’93, and Mark Suffredini ’93. Key campaign advisers and volunteers included Huffenus, Wiltshire, Asela Gunawardana ’95, Scott Harris ’95, Bob Loughlin ’53, and Michael Rupolo ’12.